Back to the grind…

An apparent glutton for punishment, I decided this year that working 40+ hours a week, maintaining an active social (and dating) life, working on a to-do list that never seems to get any shorter, and trying to maintain some semblance of sanity just aren’t enough to keep a girl busy.  So what have I done?  I decided to go back to school (cue scary music here).

Classes started this week.  So far, so good (mostly).  Although around midnight last night I looked at my kitchen table covered in readings and syllabuses (or is it syllabi?) and was scrambling to try to keep track of what assignments were due when, and had a brief moment (OK, a several hours-long moment) when I found myself seriously examining the class outlines to determine just how much of the classwork I could blow off and still pass the class and wondering if I had bitten off way more than I could possibly chew.

Overwhelmed would be a good descriptor.  Not just because it’s a lot of extra work piled on an already large pile of regular “work” work, but because the last time I was in a classroom, computers were just barely coming into the mainstream, laptops and blogs weren’t even in existence, and internet-based technology wasn’t even a consideration for classes.  Now I find myself in classes that are embracing technology (yay!), but I’m suddenly behind the curve on how to actually *use* said technology.

But tonight, after uploading and posting assignments, I think I’ve finally gotten the hang of it.  (and hopefully there won’t be a post-script on this post tomorrow when I find out that I didn’t actually manage to turn in an assignment!)

Happy studies!

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

